The Church of St. Joan of Arc was founded on August 27th, 1946. The first Mass was celebrated at Hale School on September 22, 1946. This quote is from the 50th Anniversary Book: “A small group of men had to labor from 9:00 Saturday morning to get things ready for the first Mass and then stayed on Sunday to restore the school gym to its previous order. There was trouble with the kneeling benches and the folding chairs as well as the difficulties of putting up an altar on a basketball floor.”
Midnight Mass of Christmas 1947 was the first Mass in the new structure. From the same booklet: “The church wasn’t entirely completed as the pews were not yet installed. The faithful thronged to occupy folding chairs and kneel on temporary benches. A bank of evergreens graced the sanctuary, there was a lighted crib and a well-trained choir was on hand to fill the church with the glorious music of Christmas.”
There have been a number of pastors in St. Joan’s history. Fr. Mark Farrell was the founder, followed by Fr. James Geraghty, Fr. Harvey Egan, Fr. Pat Kennedy, Fr. Bill Murtaugh, and Fr. George Wertin. Our current pastor is Fr. Jim DeBruycker, and the parochial vicar is Fr. James Cassidy.
The contemporary gym masses were begun in 1968 by Fr. Harvey Egan and are still being held in the gym today. Our Legacy as a community of faith gives us a common foundation upon which to stand as we move ahead as a people within whom there is much diversity, passion and emotion.